

BORGWARNER PRESENTS CHAMPIONSHIP DRIVER'S AND TEAM OWNER'S TROPHIES AT 2012 AUTOMOTIVE NEWS WORLD CONGRESS

Indianapolis 500 Winner Dan Wheldon and Team Owners Bryan Herta and Steve Newey Honored for 2011 Victory

Auburn Hills, Michigan, January 12, 2012 – The late Dan Wheldon's 2011 victory at the Indianapolis 500 marked the 100th anniversary of the "Greatest Race in History." For the second time, his sterling silver image earned a coveted place on the Borg-Warner Trophy[™]. A duplicate image adorns the BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy[™] presented to his wife, Susie Wheldon, as a personal keepsake by BorgWarner Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Timothy M. Manganello during the 2012 Automotive News World Congress held in Detroit, Michigan, on January 11. Team owners Bryan Herta and Steve Newey received the prestigious BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy[™], a symbol of teamwork and excellence in racing.

"After finishing second in 2009 and 2010, Dan would have been thrilled to accept his second Baby Borg for his Indianapolis 500 victory in 2011. Recalling his lively spirit, we celebrate and commemorate his triumphs this evening," said Manganello. "BorgWarner is very proud to be part of a century-long tradition of achievement, competitive performance and technology leadership at the Indianapolis 500. We congratulate Dan Wheldon and Bryan Herta Autosport for their 2011 Indianapolis 500 victory and are pleased to present these prestigious symbols of their achievement."

The BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy™

A one-of-a-kind replica of the Borg-Warner Trophy, the BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy is awarded each year to the winner of the Indianapolis 500. Known as the "Baby Borg" in the automotive racing world, the sterling silver trophy is 14 inches high, weighs five pounds and rests on a beveled black marble base. The base is inscribed with the winner's name and year of victory, and includes a hand-crafted, three-dimensional sterling silver image of the winner, a duplicate of the image affixed to the full-sized trophy. BorgWarner established the driver's trophy in 1988 to provide the driver with a personal keepsake of the Speedway victory.

The BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy™

In 1998, the company also established the BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy as a companion to the driver's trophy. The team owner's trophy is presented to the owner of the winning Indianapolis 500 racing ream and recognizes the significance of the team owner's role in the Indy Racing League. Like the driver's trophy, the team owner's trophy is a replica of the Borg-Warner Trophy but features a band of art deco racing cars accented in gold to symbolize the importance of teamwork in the automotive business.

The Borg-Warner Trophy[™]

Featuring the image of every Indianapolis 500 winner sculpted in sterling silver, the Borg-Warner Trophy is a tribute to 100 years of racing history. Since the trophy stands over five feet tall and weighs more than 100 lbs., it remains on display at the Indianapolis 500 Museum. However, it made a special appearance during the presentation of the driver's and owner's trophies at the World Congress.

For more information, visit www.borgwarner.com, and choose "The Indianapolis 500" from the "Company" pull-down menu at the top of the home page. The Borg-Warner Trophy, BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy, and BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy are trademarks of BorgWarner Inc.

About BorgWarner

Auburn Hills, Michigan-based BorgWarner Inc. (NYSE: BWA) is a technology leader in highly engineered components and systems for powertrain applications worldwide. Operating manufacturing and technical facilities in 59 locations in 19 countries, the company develops products to improve fuel economy, reduce emissions and enhance performance. Customers include VW/Audi, Ford, Toyota, Renault/Nissan, General Motors, BorgWarner Inc. (BorgWarner Presents Championship Driver's and Team Owner's Trophies at 2012 Automotive News World Congress) – 3

Hyundai/Kia, Daimler, Chrysler, Fiat, BMW, Honda, John Deere, PSA, and MAN. For more information, please visit www.borgwarner.com.



Photo courtesy of Automotive News.

BorgWarner Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Timothy M. Manganello presented the BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy[™] to Susie Wheldon to commemorate the late Dan Wheldon's 2011 Indianapolis 500 victory. Team owners Bryan Herta and Steve Newey from Bryan Herta Autosport received the BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy[™].

###